Service Recognition Trends

Evolving Trends in Service Awards and Recognition

service-recognition-trend.jpgService recognition programs have become the most popular and widely used type of employee recognition.
The components of service anniversary recognition have evolved to meet the changing needs of the workforce. Here are some key trends:

Trend Change: Type of Awards Given

The type of gifts for length of service recognition has significantly evolved. During the Industrial Revolution, a gold watch was commonly given at 25 years of service or upon retirement.

This single form of recognition has transformed over the years. Initially, service awards included management-selected gifts like plaques, pins, or mantel clocks.

yos-catalog-200Today, the most common awards are gifts of choice, where employees select their own gifts from a catalog or online platform, allowing them to choose something they will use and appreciate.


Trend Change: Service Award Frequency

Initially, service recognition was typically provided only after 25 years of service or at retirement.

Today, it is standard practice to recognize employee milestones starting at the 5th service anniversary and at every five-year increment thereafter. Enhanced recognition at retirement is also common.


Trend Change: Adding Earlier Service Recognition

Standard service milestones beginning at five years worked well until the Generation Y (Millennials) workforce emerged. Born between 1978 and 2000, Millennials tend to stay at a company for shorter periods, averaging less than five years (according to the US Dept. of Labor). As standard recognition starts at five years, many Millennials were not being recognized, increasing the risk of turnover.

Today, recognizing this trend, more companies now offer awards more frequently, adding early service recognition at 1, 2, and 3 years. According to a recent SHRM survey, 28% of companies now celebrate first-year service anniversaries.


Why These Trends Matter

Present-Service-Recognition-AwardUnderstanding and adapting to these trends is crucial for modern companies. By offering more personalized and frequent recognition, businesses can meet the expectations of today’s diverse workforce. This approach not only helps in retaining talent but also in building a motivated and engaged team.
Implementing these evolving practices ensures that all employees, regardless of tenure, feel valued and appreciated. As the workforce of today continues to change, so too must the strategies for employee recognition.
Staying updated with these changing trends will help your organization maintain a culture of appreciation and excellence.

Click next to continue reading the Guide to Employee Service Awards 

Prev: Value of Service Awards                   Next: Service Milestone Categories

  Previous-Button.jpg           Next-button-400.jpg

Or, see Service Award Guide's contents (List of Topics) to jump to specific topics


where-do-i-start-180 to get your Employee Service Recognition Program started today...

Call now to talk to a Recognition Specialist
call 630-954-1287  (M-F, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm CST),

Use the FORM below to request FREE information.

Get Free
Information & Sample Employee Recognition - Gift Packet

Use the form below to request your free information package, sent via USPS. It will include:

  • Sample Employee Service Award Packet
  • Gift-of-Choice Gift Catalog
  • Pricing, order forms, and how to get started

  Send me Info  

Send me
Service Recognition & Awards
Program Information

Use this form to request your free information package. It will include:

*  Sample Employee Service Award Presentation Package
*  Sample Gift-of-Choice Award Catalog
*  Service Award Presentation Options
*  Pricing, order forms, and how to get started.